IPL 6: Day 54 Big Finals–Pollard gives Mumbai the First IPL trophy…

May 27, 2013 at 1:18 am (Cricket, IPL, IPL 2013, IPL 6) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


After a journey for 54 days, It has reached a stage where Chennai will meet Mumbai a dejavu of 2010 finals. Will Chennai make history repeat itself or Mumbai will help themselves to win their first ever IPL trophy.

Big Finals – Rohit Sharma won the important toss and decided to bat in a slow and tricky pitch. Not a ideal start would have wanted as Mumbai were three down with 16 on the board, with skipper being the last victim. Karthik along with Rayudu struck for a moment and made damage control to put Mumbai Indians back on track., Once karthik was dismissed in came Man from Caribbean, Kieron pollard, who owned this format of cricket, played a gem of an innings even though people around him kept walking away from him. He ended the match with two monumental back to back sixes to give Mumbai a good score of 148/9 in a tricky pitch.

Chennai needing less than 150 to win, got off to a dreadful start, losing 3 wickets that of Hussey, Raina & Badrinath with just 3 on the board. It was Karthik & Rayudu who did the damage control form Mumbai from same position, but Vijay & Bravo failed to do and Jadeja followed with a worst shot of his lifetime to get out for a duck. Which made CSK 39/6 in the half way. Chennai was left alone with their skipper to do the job, but even for him it was too big pill to swallow. However he tried as much as he could, which is clearly visible by the fact, Dhoni has scored 63 runs and all the other 10 players put together scored just 62 runs. In the end Mumbai Indians won their first ever IPL trophy and became the champs of IPL 2013/Season 6.

However even before Mumbai could soak in the happiness of lifting the cup, Sachin announced himself saying that he is retiring from the IPL cricket. Expected him to play for one more season, but still Legend has made his call when his team has delivered a the icing in cake for him.

Mumbai Indians won the match 23 runs…

Mumbai Indians are the champions Indian Premier League Season 6…

Awards & Winners of IPL 2011:

Young Player of the Tournament – Sanju Samson of Rajasthan Royals.

Catch of the season – Gurkreet Mann Singh of Kings XI Punjab (for the catch of Ross Taylor)

Longest Six of the tournament – Chris Gayle (119 meters against PWI)

Orange Cap – Michael Hussey (733 runs in 17 IPL innings)

Purple Cap – Dwayne Bravo (32 wickets in 17 innings)

Fair play award – Chennai Super Kings

Most valuable Player – Shane Watson of Rajasthan Royals.

Interesting Stats IPL 6 Day 54:

– This is just the 13th match out of 37 played in Eden gardens won by team batting first.

– Mitchell Johnson now has 16 wickets in powerplay overs highest by any bowler for this season; he was closely followed by Mohit Sharma with 15.

– Rohit Sharma has just scored 12 runs in all the three playoff matches.

– 3/34 is the worst powerplay score for Mumbai for this season.

– This is fourth time a team has lost 6 wickets before scoring 50 runs, CSK have been there twice and both against Mumbai.

– History continues to repeat as table toppers in league stage have never won the tournament, this time CSK loses it after topping the table.

– 4/42 by Bravo is the second most expensive spell in IPL after picking 4 wickets.

– 148 runs target set Mumbai Indians is the lowest for an IPL final which is held in India. Deccan’s set 143 in 2009 but it was in SA.

– This is also the first time Mumbai have defeated Chennai in a knockout situation games.

– Dwayne Bravo became the first bowler to pick 32 wickets in an IPL season, previous best was 28 by Malinga.

– It is an ironical fact none of the Orange cap winner’s have been able to help their team to win the trophy, IPL 1 – Shaun Marsh, IPL 2 – Matthew Hayden, IPL 3 – Sachin, IPL 4 and 5 – Chris Gayle
IPL 6 – M Hussey.

– It is also an ironical fact that Chennai have lost all their matches played on a Sunday in this season, and continued the trend even in finals.

At the end of DAY 54 in IPL 6:

Total no. of Boundaries – 2051

Total no. of Sixes – 675

Longest Six – 119 Meters by Chris Gayle against PWI.

Most no. of Fours – Mike Hussey (81) followed by Kohli & Dravid (64)

Most no. of Sixes – Chris Gayle (51) followed by Kieron Pollard (29)

Orange Cap –Mike Hussey (732) followed by Chris Gayle (708)

Purple Cap – Dwayne Bravo (32) followed by James Faulkner (28)

Best Batting Performance: Chris Gayle 175*(66)

Best Bowling Figures – James Faulkner (5/16 Vs SRH)

Most Dot Balls Bowled – Dale Steyn (211) followed by Sunil Narine (180)

Fastest Ball of IPL 6 – Shaun Tait (153.43 KMH) followed by Dale Steyn (152.48KMH)

Fair play Award Winners – Chennai Super Kings


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: