IPL 6: Day 1–Narine Spins Delhi out of Eden…

April 4, 2013 at 12:10 am (Cricket, IPL, IPL 2013, IPL 6) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


IPL is back, and as expected my blog is back in action… As the year’s pass on, Jobs gets tougher and getting space for personal life/interests gets deteriorated. However it is true to myself, as i have been totally away from blogging, and now thanks to this IPL which still keeps me kicking inside the world of Blogging.

As last year I may not blog more about how the events in the match turned out, as there are many sites and live viewers who will have their say/views. I ll just update the interesting stats, which will give a kick for passionate followers of IPL.

So, Game on… Who is going to meet CSK this year in finals….? Will have to wait for another 51 days to know it…

Interesting Facts as on Day 1:

First Toss – Gautam Gambhir – Decided to Bowl First

First Four – Mahela Jayawardene (DD) of Brett Lee (KKR)

First Six – Mahela Jayawardene (DD) of Brett Lee (KKR)

First Wicket – Unmukt Chand (DD) bowled of Brett Lee (KKR)

First ball faced – Unmukt Chand (DD)

First Ball Bowled – Brett Lee (KKR)

First Powerplay – 45/2 in 6 overs.

First Catch – Kallis takes David Warner in slips of Sunil Narine.

First Runout – Shahbaz Nadeem out with a combined effort from Bisla & Sunil Narine.

First Fifty – Mahela Jayawardene of 46 balls.

First Extras – Brett Lee (Byes)

Interesting Stats:

– Unmukt Chand became the 2nd Victim to be dismissed of the very first ball of the tournament opener; previous was Manoj Tiwary in 2010.

– Unmukt Chand is also the 15th batsmen to be dismissed of the very first ball of the game.

– Umpire Simon Taufel who is standing on 44th game became the highest standing umpire in IPL by passing Billy Doctrove’s 43.

– First six in 18.4 overs is the longest wait for the First IPL six, previous was in 2009, where everyone waited till 17.2 overs.

– Jayawardene scored his 10th IPL fifty.

– Irfan Pathan bowled the first maiden for this season; it is also the 20th time in an IPL match first over is a Maiden.

– Irfan Pathan has bowled 8 Maiden in IPL so far and at the second position, Praveen Kumar holds the top place by 9 Maiden to his name.

At the end of DAY 1 in IPL 6:

Total no. of Boundaries – 29

Total no. of Sixes – 3

Longest Six – 78 Meters by Gautam Gambhir (KKR)

Most no. of Fours – Mahela Jayawardene (8)

Most no. of Sixes – Gambhir, Jayawardene & Yusuf pathan – 1 Six.

Most Economical Spell – Sunil Narine (4/13 Vs DD)

Most Dot Balls Bowled – Sunil Narine (14 balls)

Orange Cap – Mahela Jayawardene (66) followed by Gautam Gambhir (42).

Purple Cap – Sunil Narine (4)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: